Inviso Img

'Green List' Of 15 Countries Has Been Published – But Government Advice Is To Remain Home

Minister for Foreign Affairs Simon Coveney has said that while a 'green list' of countries has been published, the safest thing for people to do is to holiday at home this year. 

Tuesday night saw the government agree to add 15 countries to a 'green list' where the travel advice will be to take normal precautions.

It was also decided that people arriving to Ireland from these countries will not have to restrict their movements for 14 days.

The general advice from health professionals is to avoid non-essential travel, with a number of politicians suggesting whether a 'green list' should be published at all. 

However, Tánaiste Simon Coveney responded to this by saying on RTÉ's Morning Ireland: "The safest thing to do is not to holiday abroad. But we know that 50,000 people a week are leaving the country and I have an obligation as minister to give them guidance on risk attached to that travel."

The countries are:

  • Malta
  • Finland
  • Norway
  • Italy
  • Hungary
  • Estonia
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Cyprus
  • Slovakia
  • Greece
  • Greenland
  • Gibraltar
  • Monaco
  • San Marino 

The list, which was agreed following a meeting of the Cabinet at Dublin Castle, will be reviewed every fortnight.

Coveney further stated that there have been no cases of COVID-19 brought into Ireland from these countries.

The National Public Health Emergency Team advice remains against all non-essential foreign travel, regardless of the 'green list. 

Main image by

READ MORE: Ireland May Have To Return To Phase Two If COVID-19 Cases Rise

READ MORE: Yes – Mask Induced Acne Is A Real Thing, Here's How To Handle It